Book reviewer of the week – Reaiah

Reaiah has an interesting collection of books on her bookshelf.  She remembers your Year 1 teacher reading Mick Inkpen’s The Blue Balloon in a funny voice and she gives this book 5 stars.  Who was your Y1 teacher, by the way?  Perhaps you could ask them to record an audio version of the book for the website in the same funny voice.  (Did you know that Ms Atkins was the first person to suggest The Blue Balloon for the 100 books?)

peter-pan-jm-barrie-2.jpg

Another of the books that Reaiah has read and reviewed is Peter Pan.  She says the story was “good and sad”.   I have known the story of Peter Pan all my life, of course, but only read J M Barrie’s original book a little while ago and was taken aback by what a brilliant piece of writing it is.  I thought it was funny, very thought provoking, and, as Reaiah says, sad.  (I’ve put it as one of my top 5 books on my bookshelf.)   I know that Jim has also recently read and enjoyed Peter Pan and I hope others of you will during the year – there are some difficult words and sentences but my advice is just to skip over these and enjoy an all-time great fantasy.

Mr Milne

Author: class6CM

We are a Year 6 class at Rosendale School in West Dulwich, London.

Leave a Reply

