The Scottish play

Letters from Macbeth to Lady Macbeth, written after hearing the witches’ prophecies, by Caspar, Wayne and Tanya.  Do you think they capture something of the Shakespearean style?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My dearest wife,

‘Twas the dunnest battle but I assure thee I am well. Just before I start I pray that thee burn this letter after ‘tis read. The battle was against Norway and there was a countless number of deaths on each side but we were victorious by the skin of our teeth. The field that we battled on turned incarnadine.

I am tired of risking my life for this weak and feeble king. I am going to unburden my dunnest thoughts and I pray for you to stay by my side no matter what happens. I think what if something were to happen to Duncan? We are third in line, but what if Duncan’s sons were to just disappear also?

I must tell thee, dear wife, I have been alive for some time now but this is the strangest thing I have ever seen. After the hurlyburly of the war, when I was riding back home to thee, I saw three old crones. They said, All hail Macbeth, Thane of Glamis, All hail Macbeth, Thane of Cawdor, All hail Macbeth, who shalt be king! How doth they know my dunnest thoughts?

(Caspar)

My dearest wife,

I have really important news of the utmost urgency. I hope this letter finds you healthy and well. I have sent this letter to tell you I have completed my duty for King Duncan. As you know there was a battle that had a great mass of bloodshed. The battle was against the Norwegians and as general I led King Duncan’s army to victory. There was an onslaught and there was a horrific cost as one thousand, two hundred brave men died.

I must unburden myself of my dunnest thoughts of becoming King of Scotland. I’m tired of fighting for the old and feeble king. I am constantly alarum’d as I am the most fierce fighter he has ever had.

My dearest wife, the most strange things have happened. After the hurly-burly of the battle, Banquo and I noticed three haggard old crones, sucking in the despair of all the deaths. I drew my sword and demanded them speak. My wife, I must tell you that I feared them. Their rasping voices like a stone on iron chanting, All hail Macbeth, Thane of Glamis, All hail Macbeth, Thane of Cawdor, and All hail Macbeth, he who shalt be king. Then they said, All hail Banquo whose son shalt be king. Dost the old crones prophecies mean aught?

(Wayne)

I hope that my letter gets to thee. I send this letter to thee to tell thee I am healthy and well and I have done my job for the king. The battle against Norway was bloody and ugly but at the end we were victorious.

I’m very sorry but I have to tell you my deepest, dunnest secrets. I have been having these thoughts about being King of Scotland. I want to be more that Thane of Glamis. I want to be something bigger and better.

This morning I was on my way back from the war and I came across three withered old crones. I told them to move but then they said, pointing their crooked fingers at me, Hail Macbeth, Thane of Glamis. Next, another one said, Hail Macbeth, Thane of Cawdor. And then suddenly one said, Hail Macbeth who shalt be King of Scotland! Then the crones disappeared and the king’s messenger came and said the king is making you Thane of Cawdor…. Art all the crones prophecies to come true?

(Tanya)

Author: class6TM

We are a Year 6 class at Rosendale School in West Dulwich, London.

21 thoughts on “The Scottish play”

  1. I think my writing did not work because it didn’t really sound like a General was saying it. But I used a good amount of Shakespearen language. Overall I would give it a 7/10.

    Like

  2. I think that all of the pieces of writing are very good.They all have Shakespearean vocabulary and are formal like ’twas the dunnest battle but I assure you I am well.Before I start I pray that thee burn this letter after tis read.

    Like

  3. I think Macbeth is a really good play by Shakespeare and it’s really confusing with all the old words like hurly burly,thee, and dunnest but it’s still fun when your writing!!! Now we’re writing a letter to lady Macbeth!!!!

    Like

  4. I think that all of the pieces of writing are very good.They all have Shakespearean volcabulary and are formal like ’twas the dunnest battle but I assure you I am well.Before I start I pray that thee burn this letter after tis read.

    Like

  5. I really like writing in Shakespearen Language it’s very fun but still quite hard because sometimes we will not use the language an example is when I used you instead of ‘thee’.

    Like

  6. I think Caspar’s one does work. It’s really well written – all of them are but I think Tanya one it doesn’t work because shepbuts all hail Macbeth Thane of Glamis next the another one said she didn’t need to say that and she adds stuff that’s she doesn’t need

    Like

  7. I really enjoyed reading the pieces of work. I found they were all different but I liked that. They all had good Shakespearen language ‘like I’m very sorry but I have to tell thee my dunnest thoughts’ They all had a lot of thought put into them.

    Like

  8. I really like what I did on the Mecbeth play letter.It was a really good story to learn about and write about I think that my story was good and I could have been a bit better but I’m happy with it.

    Like

  9. I found it really fun writing the letter to lady Macbeth, because we all had to write with Shakespearean words and it was awesome! I think that all the letters put on the blog read very well and they sound as if they were written by Macbeth!

    Like

  10. I that the writing is good because they used a lot of Shakespearean words and gave a lot of thought like you were actually there . I think the writing is also very detailed using words like withered old crones, dunest , thee and ’twas.

    Like

  11. I love writing in Shakespearean because it adds something new to our writing.Its always interesting learning what some of the words that Shakespear used meant.All of the writing is amazing and very Shakespearean!

    Like

  12. I thought writing about this was really enjoyable. I think writing about a dramatic Scotsman who is a bit dark and cunning who met three witches with prophecies writing to his wife about all this what’s not to like?

    Like

  13. I think it was really good and I really enjoyed writing the letter to lady Macbeth and I really enjoyed writing some Shakespearean words.

    Like

  14. I really enjoyed this piece of work.u think it didn’t really work my first time but on the second time it sounded really good to me. I am quite proud of this piece of writing

    Like

Leave a Reply

