Confucius and The Golden Rule

Much of the writing of the famous Chinese philosopher Confucius is about human relationships.   He argued that respect and responsibilities should flow in both directions in any relationship.   We learned that Confucius wrote one of the earliest versions of the Golden Rule: Do to others as you would have them do to you.  

the-golden-rule-8-638

There are versions of the Golden Rule in almost every society, culture and religion, and we asked ourselves why this was so.  Here are thoughts from Archie, Nina and Ellie.

  • The Golden Rule is where you treat others the way you would like to be treated.  I think the Golden Rule is everywhere because it’s not just a Christian, Muslim or Hindu value – it’s a human value.  (Archie)
  • I think that the Golden Rule means treat people the way that you would like to be treated no matter who they are.  I think there is a version of the Golden Rule in every religion and society because its a value that the whole world follows because everyone should be treated the same. (Nina)
  • The Golden Rule, in my opinion, is the simplest rule to follow.  It’s that you treat people the same way you would like them to treat you.  We find the golden rule everywhere because all humans, no matter where they are, want to be treated the same. (Ellie)

confucius.jpg

Author: class6CM

We are a Year 6 class at Rosendale School in West Dulwich, London.

21 thoughts on “Confucius and The Golden Rule”

  1. I really liked learning about the golden rule because I think it’s very important. We all want to be treated the same, as we’re all humans and we’re equal.

    Like

  2. I believe that the golden rule is good. It helps people to keep Doing right. I think the reason that the golden rule is in multiple religions because it keeps the fundamental rules of most religions.

    Like

  3. I think the “Golden Rule” is very important I agree with Archie and also think that it is a human value. This is a vital rule that everyone should follow and accept.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed learning about the golden rule.I think it is a very important rule because everyone should be treated the same no matter who they are and you should treat people the way you want to be treated.

    Like

  5. I liked learning about the golden rule because I believe it’s important because everyone should be treated in the way they want to be treated themself.

    Like

  6. The golden rule is significant because it stops people from being hurt or bullied and was made probably because of self experiences and out of sympathy for others.

    Like

  7. I believe that the golden rule is very important because it would help out with bullies. And I hope that everyone thinks about it before they do something.

    Like

  8. I enjoyed learning about the golden rule I agree with Nina if someone wants to be treated right they have to treat people the same way.

    Like

  9. I believe that the golden rule means that you should treat others how you would like to be treated.And I think this rule will survive for a very long time, possibly into another golden age.

    Like

  10. I believe the golden rule is very inportant beacause it can help you through life and it can help bullies if they read it.

    Like

  11. I think the Golden Rule is important because you need to respect other people and you need to treat other people the same way they treat you.

    Like

  12. The golden rule is important because it is a world wide expectation and it helps because it is treating everyone the same and getting people to think about what they say before they say it

    Like

  13. So I think that the golden rule is the easiest one to follow because you have to be treated the same as you would treat someone else but sometimes people don’t follow these rules.

    Like

  14. I think that the golden rule is relevant to every country because everyone should be treated with respect and everyone deserves respect, but in order to get respect you need to respect others, and that’s what some people don’t understand.They think that they will just get respect without respecting others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

